Trying Something New

how I got started drawing Mandalas

The photo on the right is one of my first Mandalas and the one on the left is the one that I just finished.  My drawing has come a long way in 7 months and will continue to improve.16559003_10155381151780348_2082831494_nHere goes.  There comes a time in your life when you shouldn’t be afraid to try something new and different.  You never know where it will take you.

A mandala (Sanskrit: मण्डल, lit, circle) is a spiritual and ritual symbol in Hinduism and Buddhism, representing the universe. In common use, “mandala” has become a generic term for any diagram, chart or geometric pattern that represents the cosmos metaphysically or symbolically; a microcosm of the universe.

I was chatting with my best friend Onix Terevinto way back in July 2016, and if I remember right, he showed me a mandala that he had drawn.  I have always love the look of them, but would never have thought to try drawing one. I can’t even draw a straight line.  My Dad was an artist when he was young but never pursued it and my youngest brother went to Emily Carr in Vancouver, British Columbia for 3 years and was a great artist as well.  At least I thought so.

Next thing I know I am looking at youtube link for drawing your first mandala.  I asked Onix why he sent me that and of course he told me to watch it and then draw one.  I started with the basics and they were okay, but they didn’t do anything for me.  Pinterest is great for finding things that interest you.  I looked and looked and got ideas. I  bought paper, coloured pencils and felt pens and started on my journey of discovery.  This has become a journey of finding ME.  I have been pushed into trying different ideas but I have also been given a lot of encouragement.

When I start a new Mandala, I start with a grid and when that is done, I start drawing.  When I am in this mode, I am happy, calm and feel that my world is balanced.  Most days I start drawing around 6 in the morning, take a few breaks here and there and I am still drawing past 8 at night.  I get lost in what I am doing and have no plans of what I am going to do.  It just goes from my mind to my pen.  There is such a feeling of contentment when I have completed a drawing.

At the beginning of this, my first blog about drawing Mandalas, I said you shouldn’t be afraid to try something new.  You don’t need to go to an expensive art school, take expensive lessons or any of that.  If drawing is what you want to do, just do it.  There are no mistakes in art because they become the art.  I would also like to thank my friend Onix, for always knowing what is right for me.  Yes I said NO to a blog, but here I am, less than hour later, writing my first blog post.

I am no longer afraid to try something new and different and I believe that the drawing has made me a better person.

Leave a Reply

